On Cats and Books

"There is, incidentally, no way of talking about cats that enables one to come off as a sane person." ~Dan Greenberg

Cat Quote of the Day June 21, 2013 by Jim Butcher

“I found him in a Dumpster one day when he was a kitten and he promptly adopted me. Despite my struggles, Mister had been an understanding soul, and I eventually came to realize that I was a part of his little family, and by his gracious consent was allowed to remain in his apartment. Cats. Go figure.”

― Jim Butcher, “Fool Moon”

loki

Photo by Jon Ross

Most cat owners, I think, feel like they live on their cats’ sufferance.  Cats have this supercilious attitude that makes you feel grateful for being allowed to do things like sleep in your own bed.  I know that if I have a cat sleeping on my legs, I always feel guilty when I need to get up, and the guilt is reinforced when I receive the look of feline disdain familiar to all cat owners.

Leave a Reply

